The Public Insurance Adjuster Law (SB127 of the 78th Legislative Session) became effective on June 11, 2003. Article 21.07-5 Section 3 (a) requires that: "A person may not act as a public insurance adjuster in this state or hold himself or herself out to be a public insurance adjuster in this state, unless the person holds a license or certificate issued by the commissioner under Section 5, 15, or 16 of this article."
As noted above, the licensing requirement for Public Adjusters was put in effect in the State of Texas in 2003 by the Texas Department of Insurance. With the licensing requirement through the Texas Department of Insurance, all licensed adjusters are required to pass the state examination for licensure and complete 30 hours of Continuing Education (CE) requirements for each term to maintain his or her license. Public Adjusters are also required to carry a $10,000.00 surety bond to further protect the consumers. All licensed public adjusters are subject to audits by the State to ensure compliance with all state regulations.
These licensing standards (with the exception of the bond) are also consistent with Independant Insurance Adjusters and Staff Insurance Adjusters, meaning Public Insurance Adjusters are equally qualified to adjust losses in the State of Texas as the Insurance Company's Adjuster.
Having a licensed professional navigate the claims process on your behalf, with your best interests at heart is beneficial to the property owner to reach a fair and equitable settlement.